Notary Rotary
Certified Signing agent/or not
Notary Discussion History

Go Back to June, 2004 Index

Posted by Confused on 6/30/04 11:57am
Msg #3722

I called some different oraganizations today and was told by some guy at the National Notary Assoc. That I needed to become a certified signing agent to be able to notarize loan docs? I was looking around and was wondering if this is true? Pay $145 or whatever it is? I am a real estate agent but by law I have to become a certified signing agent??????????

Reply by Sylvia_FL on 6/30/04 12:01pm
Msg #3723

That is "bull puckey" There is no law that says you have to be a certified signing agent.

Most companies do not care if you are certified or not. It is not a requirement.

I used to be certified, but didn't renew my certification when the NNA bought out the National Association of Signng Agents, of which I was a member and certified through.
Not being certified has not hindered me in any way!

The NNA just want your hard earned money - don't give it to them!

(Hey, send me $145 and I will make you up a nice certificate saying you are certified:) )

Reply by enotarynj on 7/3/04 12:10am
Msg #3885

Sylvia, this is a great news. I got confused as well... for a moment I thought that my Notary Commission was not enough to certify Real Estate documents... Thank you for posting your reply!

Reply by Dennis D Broadbooks on 6/30/04 1:30pm
Msg #3727

Dittos to What Sylvia Had to Say...

...& I'd highly encourage you to come out of the closet. Stating your real name (even if it's just your first name) & the state you're from will do wonders for your self esteem.

Reply by redonthehead on 6/30/04 2:06pm
Msg #3730

Re: Dittos to What Sylvia Had to Say...

Dennis, What is your obsession with someone identifying him/herself? I don't care to use my real name and I certainly don't have self-esteem issues. If one chooses to identify with name and state, so be it. If not, let it go, please.

Reply by HisHughness on 6/30/04 2:14pm