Notary Rotary
Is this a signing or not?
Notary Discussion History

Go Back to June, 2004 Index

Posted by JYHoward on 6/10/04 2:26pm
Msg #2954

I have a mortgage broker wanting me to get an application to a borrower and collect the necessary documents that normally accompanies the loan application (ie: 1st mortgage statements, tax returns, etc.) and just forward it back to him for processing of the loan. I only need to verify that the borrower is who he says he is and I don't have to notarize a thing. But if I am checking the persons ID don't I still need to complete a loose certification that I witnessed that he made the application. I am still very new at this...is this common? Any comments are welcomed and appreciated.

Reply by Sylvia/FL on 6/10/04 2:37pm
Msg #2955

These are done quite a bit. No, you don't have to make a certificate out. You are just going out to verify the borrower is who he says he is and collect the requested documents, there may be some that need signing.

If the loan goes through you will probably be asked to go back out and do the signing.

Reply by JYHoward on 6/10/04 2:39pm
Msg #2956

Thank you but I have one other question

Thanks Sylvia...he asked me what would I charge and we agreed to $100 was that too much?

Reply by Sylvia/FL on 6/10/04 2:43pm
Msg #2958

Re: Thank you but I have one other question

If that is your fee for that area, and they agreed to it, it is fine.
If it was too much, they wouldn't have agreed to it.

Reply by JYHoward on 6/10/04 2:47pm
Msg #2959

Thanks again

Thanks again. I appreciate your help.

Reply by Roger/OH on 6/10/04 5:05pm
Msg #2966

Go for it!

Hey, if you can get a hundred bucks for just being a document courier and not even having to notarize, more power to you! :)

Reply by Sylvia/FL on 6/10/04 5:35pm
Msg #2967

Re: Go for it!

These can sometimes take as long as a signing. I charge the same for these as I do a loan signing.

Reply by Bob-Chicago on 6/10/04 11:53pm
Msg #2974

Novastar?