Notary Rotary
Marketing Ideas
Notary Discussion History

Marketing Ideas
Go Back to June, 2004 Index

Posted by Veronica_CA on 6/22/04 11:49am
Msg #3321

Marketing Ideas

I'm new to this business and I was trying to figure out the best way to market myself. I made a flyer and I was thinking of going around to the local title/escrow/realtors/banks and offering my services that way. Has anyone had any success marketing themselves this way?

Any suggestions are appreciated. ☼Ü☼

Reply by HisHughness on 6/22/04 5:13pm
Msg #3343

I have another small home-based company called "In a Word Creations," which does newsletters, brochures, news releases, speeches, etc. I also did all the marketing for the non-profit associations I ran (sometimes, Signing Agents of Austin comes periously close to being one of those associations). Which is to say, I know at least a smidgen about marketing. One of the best things I have found is National Pen Corp. I buy their products all the time: They're quite cheap, well made, and perfect for mailing or dropping off personally with a card.

Right now I have in my inventory three different types of ball-point pens, five refrigerator magnets, and two small Swiss Army knife key chains. Every time I do a closing for a new company or a new scheduling agent, I send a letter of appreciation to the individual with an accompanying promotial piece. When I overnight a package back, if I have the name of an individual to whom the dox are going, I drop in a token. Many, of course, go to people who will never have any role in sending me a new closing. On the other hand, I never know when one of those people might influence someone who >>will<< send me business, or might help me cover my ass if I foul up. It never hurts to have your name out in as many venues as possible.