Notary Rotary
keeping a journal
Notary Discussion History

keeping a journal
Go Back to June, 2004 Index

Posted by Irma on 6/22/04 1:30pm
Msg #3330

keeping a journal

Must the borrowers sign my journal? I am new at this. I appreciate those that have answered my questions as a new agent.

Reply by redonthehead on 6/22/04 2:12pm
Msg #3334

If you're a notary in California and you "notarize" a document, yes, the borrower has to sign your journal. You are notarizing the borrower's signature. This is very elementary. You should be familiar with your state laws on this before you do an actual notarization.

Reply by Stephanie on 6/22/04 2:20pm
Msg #3335

What state are you in Irma?

Reply by Irma on 6/23/04 8:33am
Msg #3376

I am in the state of Illinois. Do I have to get fingerprints into the journal out here?

Reply by Eatha on 6/23/04 9:02am
Msg #3382

Irma, here is the link to the Illinois Notary Public Handbook, which you should also have gotten when you became a notary. If it's not in this handbook, DON'T DO IT.

http://www.cyberdriveillinois.com/publications/pdf_publications/ipub1619.pdf

If you have questions about notarial duties in Illinois, you should really be asking the Secretary of State in Illinois, not us. I don't work in Illinois, what do I know, I could steer you wrong!!

Reply by AM~NC on 6/23/04 9:22am
Msg #3384

Re: keeping a journal - entry question

OK, I've read that even though my state doesn't require me to keep a journal, they say it is a good idea so that you have a consistent/well organized record of what you've done. Here's the question - do you need to list each notarized document separately and have the signers sign your journal for each notarized document or can you do what I have been doing which is to just have one line item listed as "loan closing" and the signers just sign once?
TIA

Reply by Dennis D Broadbooks on 6/23/04 10:22am
Msg #3389

Advertisement for NotaryRotary.com!!!!!