Notary Wanna Be
Notary Discussion History

Notary Wanna Be
Go Back to May, 2004 Index

Posted by Anonymous on 5/13/04 6:08am
Msg #1985

Notary Wanna Be

Greetings,

I was a real estate agent few years ago and always thought signing agents are off shift employees of title company...duh! I refi my home last week and had an in home signing. The SA turned out to be my old real estate buddy and he said being an SA fill the income gap of real estate or even better.

Loss my job a year ago and has been mr. mom since with 2 little ones. I swore I will not work for a hi-tech co. again. My unemployment just ran out. I'm thinking of getting into the notary biz and is doing my homework by browsing notaries sites and forums. Loan docs are no problem for me. I still have title and mortgage contacts from real estate.

If you don't mind me trying to take a bite of your pie, but I do need help getting started on the right track.

1. How much do you have to invest beside the license, bond, E&O ins?
2. Which agency has the most worth certification?
3. Can I get business directly from mortgage and title co. without having to "fee" list with an agency like NNA, NSA, SSA, etc?
4. How big is an e-doc file? How big of an e-mail box do you need?

Your humble ideas, advices, and guidances will be well appreciated.

The Road Runner

Reply by Lawrence Goodwin on 5/13/04 10:28am
Msg #1993

Greeting Road Runner
Might I suggest that you use all of your experience and training of your real estate background, and apply it towards the document signing industry. As a former Real Esate Agent, you already have the credentials.

Reply by goldhcs/co on 5/13/04 4:07pm
Msg #2010