Notary Rotary
Question on Loan Docs
Notary Discussion History

Question on Loan Docs
Go Back to October, 2004 Index

Posted by Amberjt on 10/27/04 4:42am
Msg #10545

Question on Loan Docs

I am new to loan doc signing and had my first appointment tonight. The borrowers ended up not signing because there were too many errors (large ones) in the documents. I noticed on some of the signature pages it said (seal) next to the signature line, would this document need to have a notarized acknowlegement as there was no notorization wording on the page or what does that mean? This was for a purchase and a line of credit so there was no recission period and the borrowers were not comfortable in signing the documents and trying to get the errors changed after they signed.

Reply by Sylvia_FL on 10/27/04 6:47am
Msg #10547

No, the "seal" next to signature is nothing to do with your notary seal. Just ignore it. You will see it all the time on the docs.
It is a throwback to the days when individuals had their own seals.

Reply by Amberjt on 10/27/04 11:21am
Msg #10551

Sylvia_FL,
Thank you so much. I thought that would be alot more notarizing than I was expecting.

Reply by Barbara / CA on 10/27/04 3:42pm
Msg #10567

Actually the seal is for when the borrower is a Corporation. When an entity of a Corporation is signing a document, they have to place their Corporate Seal on the document. The only document that will have the word "seal" next to the signature lines will be the Promissory Note. If you are signing up an individual, then no seal is required.

In regards to the Right to Cancel. All lenders for an Equity Line of Credit (even for a purchase) require a Right to Cancel to be signed. Some lenders actually have to wait out the 3 day period prior to funding, must lenders will fund the loan prior to the 3 days because it is a purchase.

Reply by Sylvia_FL on 10/27/04 4:55pm
Msg #10569