Notary Rotary
Signing Notaries in Maine
Notary Discussion History

Go Back to October, 2004 Index

Posted by Nicole on 10/22/04 10:26am
Msg #10291

I am just getting into this business and wondered if anyone else in MAINE did this type of work. I talked to a Notary that came to my house yesterday and asked him some questions (we were signing loan docs). He said that he gets on average $40.00 per signing!!! I was shocked. It was with us almost an hour, had to download the docs, get copies at a local print shop, and then go home sign his portions, send them back, etc., Hardly seemed worth the $40.00. Is this a usual rat for this type of service in Maine??? Rethinking getting into this business. Any comments would be welcomed!!!

Reply by Roger/OH on 10/22/04 2:37pm
Msg #10297

Can't imagine doing ANY signing in ANY state for $40, let alone with email docs. I won't take less than $100 for any edoc signing, and that's if its relatively close by.

Doesn't sound like he's too well equipped, which is a necessity in the business and particularly for handling email docs.

Reply by Tess/ME on 10/22/04 5:33pm
Msg #10305

Hi Nicole: Were are you located in Maine?
I do signings here and know of a few others that do them. We DO NOT do $40.00 signings.