Notary Rotary
E&O Insurance
Notary Discussion History

E&O Insurance
Go Back to September, 2004 Index

Posted by Newbie on 9/11/04 4:44pm
Msg #7744

E&O Insurance

I am very new in this business and would like to know if mobile notaries are required to purchase E&O (Errors & Omissions) Insurance? I have been searching the internet checking out applications. Many of them ask for your E&O policy number! I know what E&O Insurance is, but I don't know if I need it!
Your advice would be greatly appreciated!

Reply by BarbaraL/CA on 9/11/04 4:48pm
Msg #7745

You don' t say what state you are in. It's not required in CA, but I would recommend it for the 1st year or so.

Reply by Newbie on 9/11/04 7:39pm
Msg #7751

Re: E&O Insurance

Reply by Newbie on 9/11/04 7:39pm
Msg #7752

Re: E&O Insurance

Reply by Newbie on 9/11/04 7:40pm
Msg #7753

Tennessee....How would I find out if I need it here?
Thanks

Reply by Joan Bergstrom on 9/11/04 8:28pm
Msg #7759

Notaries are probably not required to have E&O insurance in any of the 50 states. The reason you need it is if you want to be a loan signer you probably will not get hired without it ,particularly, if you are a newbie.

This site has a good price for E&O: go to the Notary Shop and put in Tennessee as the state. $15,000 is the industry minimum standard.
Good luck!

Reply by Sylvia_FL on 9/11/04 8:56pm
Msg #7762

Regardless of whether your state requires it or not, I dont think any notary public - especially those of us doing loan signings - should be without it.
I bought the maximum amount I could (and I still often wonder if that is enough!)

Reply by Joan Bergstrom on 9/11/04 9:12pm
Msg #7767

I feel the same way Sylvia does as I have $100,000.00 and it doesn't give me the amount of confort that this amount should. I paid approx. $475.00 for 4 years coverage.