Notary Rotary
Notary Fees
Notary Discussion History

Notary Fees
Go Back to September, 2004 Index

Posted by Jorge in Bay Area, CA on 9/1/04 3:30pm
Msg #7152

Notary Fees

I am new to the whole game of mobile notary. I mainly do notaries for my work but I recently did some signings for my friend who was buying a new home. The real estate agent thought I did a real good job so she was going to recommend me to her lending agency and hopefully generate some work for me. The problem is that I did this as a favor for my friend since he was already paying an arm and a leg to buy the house so I don't know what to charge the lender if he calls me to do another job. The real estate agent said that typically the notaries she deals with get $5/page or signature and travel fees. I believe the rate for travel is $0.37/mile. Does this seem correct?

Reply by CaliNotary on 9/1/04 3:51pm
Msg #7155

No, that's not correct. If you're doing loan signings the standard fee arrangement is a flat fee, not a per page plus mileage situation. If you're working directly for a title company $125 - $150 is quite reasonable.

There are a lot of older messages on this board about fees, if you use the search function you should get quite an education.

Reply by Jorge in Bayarea, CA on 9/1/04 4:17pm
Msg #7159

I don't see me travelling further then a 25 mile radius for now. It seems a lot of people are saying that a standard fee of $50.00 is common. Now for my friend I had to notarize basically 2 pages, each page with 2 signatures. I had to notarize the deed of trust and the errors and omissions page. I actually had to duplicate this procedure because my friend recevied two loans. Do you think that I would have been able to charge $125-150 for this procedure. I had to travel about 10 minutes from my house. I appreciate any insight you could give me

Reply by Roger/OH on 9/1/04 4:29pm
Msg #7161