Notary Rotary
$20 Fee to Apply????
Notary Discussion History

$20 Fee to Apply????
Go Back to September, 2004 Index

Posted by Donna_CA on 9/5/04 3:12pm
Msg #7430

$20 Fee to Apply????

As a 1 month newbie, I'm sending applications to as many companies as possible. For the first time, I ran across a company, A & M Closing Service, that is asking for a $20 fee along with the Notary application. How common is this?

Until today, all the applications I have sent didn't require a fee, other than the cost of faxing or mailing the application itself. Stretching advertising dollars is hard enough without also having to pay an application fee. Any feedback would be appreciated.

Reply by CaliNotary on 9/5/04 4:48pm
Msg #7435

It's a ripoff. No reputable company is going to charge it's notaries a fee to be listed in it's signing agent database. Pass this one up.

Reply by Roger/OH on 9/5/04 7:28pm
Msg #7439

Unless they will GUARANTEE you x number of signings a month, pass it up. There are hundreds of free ones out there.

Reply by NC Notary on 9/5/04 9:11pm
Msg #7442

Is this something they just recently started doing? I don't recall anything about a $20 fee for signing up, and it hasn't been that long ago that I signed up with them.

Reply by nah_AR on 9/5/04 11:03pm
Msg #7449

***Is this something they just recently started doing?***

I agree with you. It has not been very long ago since I signed up with this company, and there was definately no fee involved.

Reply by Donna_CA on 9/5/04 11:25pm
Msg #7451

Thanks for all your feedback. For those who asked whether this is their current policy, I can only say that as of today this is a direct copy of what their website states:

Notaries

Notary Packet Instructions:

1. Download and complete the Notary Packet.

2. Mail completed notary packet and $20.00 check for processing to:

A&M Closing Service
27001 La Paz Rd #418
Mission Viejo, Ca. 92691

Check can be made payable to: A&M Closing Service