Notary Rotary
Closing Agent or Signing Agent
Notary Discussion History

Go Back to April, 2005 Index

Posted by JCintheIE on 4/11/05 8:15pm
Msg #31043

Although I am new to this board at one point I did start reading all the previous posts from way back in the beginning, but never finished. This happens to be my first time posting anything however.

This has perhaps been asked or discussed before. If it has I would appreciate being directed to that original post.

I have been presented a few times by either an SS or an Escrow Company with the opportunity to complete a "Closing Agent Affidavit" Basically acknowledging that I have witnessed the signatures/initials and notarized the appropriate documents. On one occasion a line on the form asked me to state specifically when the deal closed.

Since I am also relatively new at this Notary (signing service) stuff. My first instinct was to say "okay sure! I did that" and sign the form. What I have found out however is that The National Notary Association, back in 2002 published a notice to notaries making them aware of this and of the differences between what a Closing Agent is and a Signing Agent.

Ultimately those two signings of mine resulted in a bit of a debate over the issue and both the SS and the Escrow company accepted my completed form with the words "Closing Agent" Being crossed out and replaced with "Notary Public".

Any thoughts or comments on the subject?

Reply by Lee/AR on 4/11/05 8:30pm
Msg #31048