embosser, and stamp?
Notary Discussion History

embosser, and stamp?
Go Back to April, 2005 Index

Posted by shh on 4/11/05 1:26pm
Msg #30915

embosser, and stamp?

Hi:

I am a newbie..and you will know by my question...do you need both the embosser and the stamp? On the forms, does it require both?

I have just decided to become a Notary and was checking out this forum before I take the class.

Reply by PAW_Fl on 4/11/05 1:46pm
Msg #30921

You need to check YOUR state's requirements. (If you add your state abbreviation, then it may result in a better answer.)

Anyway, some states use only the inked stamps, some states use the embosser -or- inked stamp, some don't REQUIRE either, but the inked stamp is best as it shows the signatures were notarized to out-of-state eyes.

I don't know if any state still REQUIRES the embosser or not.

Again, you need to check YOUR state's laws concerning what is required to properly perform a notarial act.

Reply by Charm_AL on 4/11/05 2:47pm
Msg #30948

PAW... Al requires the embosser...n/m

Reply by PAW_Fl on 4/11/05 3:29pm
Msg #30956

Re: Charm ... Thanks (n/m)

Smiley

Reply by Sylvia_FL on 4/11/05 1:48pm
Msg #30922

What state are you in?

What made you decide to become a notary?

Which notary class are you taking?

Sorry for the questions - just curious.

Reply by shh on 4/11/05 2:08pm
Msg #30931

Re: embosser, and stamp?..thanks

Thanks for replying so fast....I live in CA, and will check on that question about using both or not.

I was widowed almost 2 years ago, (I am only 50)..and heard on radio about Notaries.

My sisters are both Notaries in Texas, and NM but never had to take a test?!

It sounded like the type job I would like, and from what they say here in CA, the money is good??!! Dont know now, as I read the message boards if that is true.

It seems like you have to invest alot of your own money for classes, supplies ect.