Join  |  Login  |   Cart    

Notary Rotary
Insurance, amt of E & O you all carry? Is it better to......
Notary Discussion History

Go Back to August, 2005 Index

Posted by kathy/ca on 8/18/05 2:42pm
Msg #59944

increase that amt and/or also take out a blanket liability policy? Any insurance agents out there?

Reply by kathy/ca on 8/18/05 3:15pm
Msg #59952

Both my bus. ins. agent and my E & O ins. co. said they see

no reason for having any other type liability insurance other than E & O ins. for what we do in signing loan docs. Any thoughts on this?

Reply by WF-CA on 8/18/05 4:14pm
Msg #59985

Re: Both my bus. ins. agent and my E & O ins. co. said they see

Hi Kathy: I am an insurance agent (for 29 years) for commercial types of insurance (aka business insurance). I see no reason for you to purchase anything other than E&O insurance, since that is where your largest exposure is. If you work out of your home, you may want to consider adding an endorsement to your homeowners (or renters) policy that adds coverage for business liability (it would strictly exclude e&o losses). Some insurance companies will also write 'home business office' policies for a very small annual premium.
Wendy

Reply by kathy/ca on 8/18/05 6:43pm
Msg #60034

Thank you Wendy, this is the kind of info I have been look..

ing for. On another board someone posted that a business liabililty policy is also a good thing to have but as I have stated, both my insurance carrier and my E & O insurance carrier, seems to think there is no need for the extra liability insurance. They also said that E & O insurance would cover any errors or omissions that the notary made and other than that, what is the notary responible for, certainly not the "content" of the docs.

Reply by PAW_Fl on 8/18/05 10:18pm
Msg #60080

Re: Thank you Wendy, this is the kind of info I have been lo