Notary Rotary
Needs Clarification
Notary Discussion History

Needs Clarification
Go Back to August, 2005 Index

Posted by Anonymous on 8/27/05 8:26am
Msg #62182

Needs Clarification

Hi! I'm new in the business and something weird happened to me on a closing that i was doing last night. It was refinance documents and in the new loan the wife was not a borrower. The problem with this is that her name was showing on the deed to read line (taking title) on the Mortgage and 2 more documents. She told her husband to not sign those documents unless her name was not there, because she didnt' want to see her name on those documents, so, her husband decided to crossed off her name and initial. I know this is not acceptable but I tried to call the Closing Company and Lender Office but nobody answer. If this happens again what should i do?

Reply by Sylvia_FL on 8/27/05 8:38am
Msg #62184

You should just let the non-borrowing spouse know that he/she has to sign those documents, it does not obligate them to the loan. Without the non-borrowing spouse's signature on those docs, the loan would not go through.

I always tell the non-borrowing spouse that because Florida is a homestead state that they are required to sign those docs, as it signifies that they are aware that there is a lien being put on their home. The spouse cannot take out a loan without their knowledge as it is putting a lien on their home. It is for their protection. And they are signing the RTC as they also can rescind the loan as it is their residence too.
I never have a problem.

Reply by Anonymous on 8/27/05 8:41am
Msg #62186

Well, her name was only on the title section but not on the signing area.

Reply by Sylvia_FL on 8/27/05 8:56am
Msg #62189

Then it really doesn't make sense. Why would she object to her name being as on the title?
Strange. Would love to know how this works out.

Reply by LisaWI on 8/27/05 9:03am
Msg #62190

I quess I misunderstood, I thought her name was on the sig lines.