Question to Sylvia_Fl
Notary Discussion History

Question to Sylvia_Fl
Go Back to August, 2005 Index

Posted by John_NorCal on 8/6/05 2:56pm
Msg #57386

Question to Sylvia_Fl

Hi Sylvia,
In reading another post that you replied to you stated "If there had been a prepayment penalty it would be in there (I always point it out to the borrowers"

Isn't that a bit beyond what we are hired to do as signing agents? I know when I was a loan broker I would point out things like that on my own, I would never expect someone else to do that for me. As an SA I don't point out things other than the RTC, first payment notice, etc. I leave the actual terms of the loan up to the LO and borrower. I do explain what each doc is though, maybe I'm comparing apples to oranges here.

Just my opinion, have a good week end.

Reply by Sylvia_FL on 8/6/05 3:01pm
Msg #57388

As signing agents we identify key points of the loan. We do not explain them! Plus there is usually a prepayment penalty rider, so we have to point out what they are signing.

So, if you are "explaining each doc" what do you do about the prepayment penalty rider? Ignore it???

Reply by John_NorCal on 8/6/05 3:14pm
Msg #57390

No, I don't ignore it. I just tell them what it is, as I said previously, maybe I'm comparing apples to oranges. I identify the doc, but do not go into detail as to the purpose of each doc.

Reply by Sylvia_FL on 8/6/05 4:01pm
Msg #57397

I don't go into detail either, but I do point out that there is a prepayment penalty.
So, basically you are doing exactly as I do you are identifying the docs to the borrower.
I never explain any of the docs, just identify them.

Reply by Dmartz_IN on 8/6/05 5:13pm
Msg #57410

Sylvia,
In your opinion where should be a SA's stoping point on identifying docs to a borrower. I had a signing late last night and the borrower kept asking how do they come up with this amount and how do they come up with that amount so just how far should one go in a case like this.