Notary Rotary
start a business
Notary Discussion History

start a business
Go Back to August, 2005 Index

Posted by asia on 8/5/05 3:58pm
Msg #57211

start a business

Can someone please explain the whole independent contractor for me since I am new in the field? Is this better if I get my business licience as to having my own business or just wait and do independent contractor. Thank you for your opinion and for helping me out.

Reply by Merry_CA on 8/5/05 4:09pm
Msg #57212

I just googled "independent contractor" and got twelve (12) pages of results.

Good Luck! ;)

Reply by Blueink_CA on 8/5/05 9:04pm
Msg #57263

An IC is just that, a person who is hired to perform a specific assignment. Companies use IC's because they don't have to worry about payroll taxes. It is up to you to report your income (and expenses) at tax time. I believe it's also a liability issue. If you get big (hire employees) you may want to incorporate to protect yourself. Also if you are running a store front business in a commercial area, you do need a business licence. Just starting out, I would recommend E&O Insurance. Good Luck!

Reply by PAW_Fl on 8/6/05 7:52am
Msg #57316

>>> ... if you are running a store front business in a commercial area, you do need a business licence, <<<

While typically a store-front business would need a business license, that is not the only requirement. Here (in FL), even if you run a home based business, such as a signing agent, with no store-front of commercial office, you still need a business license, called an "Occupational License". If you a strictly limiting your "practice" to notary work (not as a signing agent), then no license is needed. The state (at least my county) sees the signing agent business as a separate business than that of a Notary Public, and it is. A signing agent does more, charges differently and is paid as a contractor, whereas a Notary Public (unless employed by an employer), usually is paid as an incidental fee to the office.