Notary Rotary
Has anyone just walked out...???
Notary Discussion History

Go Back to December, 2005 Index

Posted by Anonymous on 12/17/05 11:29am
Msg #83128

I'm a newbie in CA and I've done about 20 signings and all have been fairly straight forward. Yesterday I get a call from a SS that I've already worked with and I like. Appt had not yet been set. e-docs have date already printed for 12-16.

I called the BO and left a message stating I'd like to try and schedule between 6-7pm. She never calls back. Finally close to 6 I call her again, son gives me her cell #. I call and leave another message. She calls around 6:45 to tell me she knew nothing about signing tonight and hasn't talked to hubby who is non-obligor. She will try and work it out and sign. She calls at 7:15 to tell me hubby will be ready at 8:00pm...no prob, I get there and no hubby.

Hubby comes in while I'm ID'ing her and he starts cursing her out!! Not D@mn, but the F word, and I'm sitting literally in the middle of them. She trys to ignore him but he keeps going. He is upset that he has to sign and didn't know about it. Not only that, he thinks he is on the loan and is repsonsible. I tell them I can reschedule after they have talked it over but she says no and he just keeps blah blah blahing. Finally I show him that he is not on the note but he is on the DOT and he quiets down and agrees to sign. The entire time however he keeps making snide little comments to her across the table. It's obvious that the wife has no idea what type of loan she has. Nor is she clear on what the LO discussed with her. So I give her paper so she can take notes on all the questions she keeps asking that I can't answer for her. (stuff she discussed with lender) I can tell she's embarrased and Hubby keeps saying "you got screwed, you should call and cancel on Monday" and " call Ditech tomorrow"

Turns out, they are getting divorced and part of the deal is she has to give him a huge chunk of money from the loan proceeds.