Join  |  Login  |   Cart    

Notary Rotary
does anyone send Christmas cards to the SS/TC's & a tax ?
Notary Discussion History

Go Back to December, 2005 Index

Posted by Laura Upton on 12/15/05 8:09pm
Msg #82935

Hello,

I am completing my first year as a signing agent. I have a couple of questions for the more experienced notaries.... so thank you for being patient with me~

1) Does anyone send Christmas cards to their SS/TC's that they have worked with throughout the year and say thankyou for their business? or is this practice frowned upon amongst notaries?

2) This is my first year filing taxes for the business. What else besides receipts for supplies, gas, equipment, mileage, and the 1099's that the SS/TC's are going to send me do i need to get ready to file taxes with? From reading posts i see that i need to get them professionally done and file a schedule C.

Thank you for your time, patient and expertise! i dont know what i would do without you more experienced veterans out there for advice~ thanks! Laura

Reply by Teddog_CO on 12/15/05 8:36pm
Msg #82938

Hi ! Laura,

I do send Christmas cards to my clients.
For taxes I've had the same CPA for over 7 years, I much rather he handle taxes so there are no errors. So far, no problems.
Don't forget your Utilities, phones, E&O insurance and any other insurance (dental & health) any tolls you have paid while traveling, advertising and business related materials like cards, pens and postage, but your home office must be used only for your business.

Hope that helps?

Teddog

Reply by Laura Upton on 12/15/05 8:47pm
Msg #82940

Hi Ted! thanks so much! I dont think my utilities would qualify as I live in an apartment and have a home office. Neither would my phone, but the E&O i forgot about, as well as NNA memberships (although i do not know if i am going to renew, i havent found them very helpful).