Notary Rotary
question
Notary Discussion History

question
Go Back to December, 2005 Index

Posted by temo martinez on 12/9/05 11:40am
Msg #81441

question

... I am new at this and can't find the anser to this question... (for a test) Mrs. Dalloway wants to add her daughter Marcie to title on her property. What document would the escrow officer include with your documents to accomodate Mrs. Templeton's request? Which person would sign this document before completing your Notary? Please help me out... Thanks

Reply by Art_MD on 12/9/05 11:44am
Msg #81445

Try a quit claim deed. Most require both signatures.

Art

Reply by temo martinez on 12/9/05 11:45am
Msg #81446

thanks

Reply by Charles_Ca on 12/9/05 12:05pm
Msg #81453

Re: question?!?

I dunno Art. A quit claim deed gives up any and all interest in a property a person might have while a grant deed grants rights ina property. A grant deed may convey partial ownerhip or ownership in common and include different vestings. However I personally believe that people should find out the answers to their own test questions.

Reply by Art_MD on 12/9/05 12:19pm
Msg #81459

Re: question?!?

A quit claim deed can be used to either delete OR add someone to title. I've had several in closings. One in particular.... property in name of husband only. Got married, added wife to title.
Grantor Mr Brown,
grantees Mr Brown and Mrs Brown

Art

Reply by Charles_Ca on 12/9/05 12:31pm
Msg #81467

Re: question?!? I don't know about MD

but by virtue of its very name, in California a Quit Claim deed is used to release (or Quit) any claim that may be had in a property. That claim may have value or it may be valueless and so frequently the Quit Claim Deed is used in adverse possession situations where color of title is a requisite of the claim of adverse possession. In California a grant deed as it 's name suggests grants a possessory interest in one's property and may be held numerous ways thereby granting partial or complete interest.