Join  |  Login  |   Cart    

Notary Rotary
Business Records Affidavit - Blank Space?
Notary Discussion History

Go Back to February, 2005 Index

Posted by Victoria/FL on 2/7/05 8:57am
Msg #19605

Help - I need some advice! I have a Business Records Affidavit to notarize later today. I've never done one before, but its pretty standard. There is one line that the client is asking me to keep blank, it says, "attached to this affidavit are ____ pages of records..." They are indicating that "their" client has not received the records yet and that is why this area is left blank.

I can either leave it blank (with the client filling in the number once they recieve the records), or the alternative is to count of the pages with the affiant and have the affiant enter the number. Apparently this is the third or fourth attempt to get this affidavit notarized correctly and they are really particular that it gets done correctly.

So....what is everyone's thoughts. Leave it blank or insist that the affiant complete the blank space. Thanks for your help.

Reply by PAW_Fl on 2/7/05 9:44am
Msg #19611

If this is an affidavit to which the signer is swearing that the contents are valid, then the number of pages must be filled in as well as the attachment attached. How else could the affiant swear to the accuracy of the information if it is not there?

The affiant could assume that 10 pages are being attached and the recipient attaches 20 pages of something the affiant has no knowledge of.

Think of it this way. Would you sign a statement saying that the income verification form being submitted is accurate, and let the recipient add the form without you knowing what it says?

Reply by PAW_Fl on 2/7/05 9:46am
Msg #19612

Further ... the law specifies ...

Reply by PAW_Fl on 2/7/05 9:51am
Msg #19613

Re: Further ... the law specifies ... (oops)

Florida Statutes Section 117.107(10)

A notary public may not notarize a signature on a document if the document is incomplete or blank.