Notary Rotary
missed initials
Notary Discussion History

missed initials
Go Back to February, 2005 Index

Posted by kellieco on 2/20/05 8:54am
Msg #21497

missed initials

What do you do when youv'e missed getting a doc initialed and the borrowers are 40 miles away?

Reply by Mike/NJ on 2/20/05 9:00am
Msg #21498

Have a nice trip..

Reply by LawrenceOK on 2/20/05 9:10am
Msg #21500

What docs are they missing on and how many are missing? Just to be safe, I think I would take Mikes advise. Bye see ya later!

Reply by Art_MD on 2/20/05 9:36am
Msg #21503

It depends on the doc. Some companies add a line on the W-9 instructions and the 4x06T form for initials. If I missed them, I'd forget it. There are several other docs where I 'd say forget it.

Which one in this case?

Art

Reply by Reginald Wilks on 2/20/05 10:04am
Msg #21515

Art_MD

I am new to this business so I am introducing myself to other Notaries in this area and asking them questions about just such things as initials. So, the timing of this question is good. I met a Notary the other day who told me He has the signer initial every page even if it is not required. The reason is two fold. 1. It protects the signer by not letting anyone try to insert any documents that He did not see. 2. It protects the Notary by letting the lender see he showed the borrower every page of the document.

I don't know if this helps or not but its just food for thought.

Reggie

Reply by Ted_MI on 2/20/05 11:39am
Msg #21519

Reggie,

I think the practice that you have described would be rather time-consuming and really isn't that necessary. Whether any lender would object to it I really don't know. The main thing I focus on is the mortgage (or I suppose elsewhere the Deed of Trust), particularly the pages before the signature page plus whatever other documents upon which it is clearly indicated (by a line, etc.)