Notary Rotary
Maryland law - signing agent
Notary Discussion History

Go Back to January, 2005 Index

Posted by Louis Jones on 1/4/05 7:57pm
Msg #15431

I have been told by the state that Maryland does not recognize signing agents but does have title insurance producers. Before I sign up for the Insurance commission course which is $545.00 I'd like to know if the title insurance producer license will allow me to do basically what the signing agent does. At this point I'm really confused. Is anyone out there familiar with things in Maryland???

Reply by Loretta Reed on 1/4/05 11:45pm
Msg #15462

I am a Licensed Title Producer in Maryland. The license will let you be a "signing agent" in Maryland.
I think that it is a conspiracy about the whole license ordeal. A bunch of attorneys got mad at all of the notaries stealing their business and decided to make it rough on us. It may have made it a little rough at the beginning but I personally only know one LTP that will do a signing for $50 and she may be the same person backdating documents. The DC area and Baltimore are saturated with LTP's and they are a dime a dozen.
After you pay that $545, you have to take the test (by appointment only). $80 for that. It is $80 each time after that if you do not pass it the first time. You can take it until you pass. The questions had nothing to do with basic notary skills, laws or whatever, it is all about title policy.
Then, once you pass the test, you go get your bond and send it to the Maryland Insurance Administration. You will wait for your approval and they will send you your license. It seems like it takes forever.
After you get licensed, you have to have 16 credit hours ($$$$) a year to keep your license PLUS whatever your bond/E&O and other fees are.
Don't want to discourage you, I got on another soap box.

Reply by Eatha/PA on 1/5/05 10:23am
Msg #15490

And don't forget the liability insurance you're required to have - $100,000 worth backed up by the same amount in assets!