Join  |  Login  |   Cart    

Notary Rotary
Failing to leave the buyers a copy of the docs.
Notary Discussion History

Go Back to July, 2005 Index

Posted by Anonymous on 7/14/05 11:25pm
Msg #52361

I would appreciate any information on what exactaly is the "rule" for leaving the borrowers with a set of the docs. Is this required? I am a newbie and my mom and dad just purchased a home. The SA did not leave them a copy of the docs. I would not even think of showing up without a set for the borrows. I belive they should call the title co. in the a.m. and insist a copy be droped off right away.
As I did check the search and found no info any key words I could put in would be great.

Thank You.

Reply by BrendaTX on 7/14/05 11:33pm
Msg #52365

Netco Title is one that does not require the SA go to the signing with a copy for the bwr. They state that I do not need to print out a copy for the bwr. The title company will either email them, or mail them a signed copy. I print them out one anyhow. The bwrs want one when I get there.

Also, what are you going to do if they botch a signature on the DOT?

Reply by Pete/NY on 7/14/05 11:33pm
Msg #52366

I always leave a copy for the borrowers. I have never heard not to.

Reply by Leslie-Mo on 7/14/05 11:40pm
Msg #52369

Some ss state that copies of only certain docs be made for the borrower. I only did it that way once. The borrower asked on almost every doc if he had a copy and I had to tell him no on several. I felt kind of stupid and uncomfortable by the end of the signing and wondered if the borrower thought someone was hiding things from him. I assured him that his lender could give him a copy of any of the docs he wanted. Anyway that was the last time I didn't give a borrower the complete copy of the package.

Reply by Bob-Chicago on 7/14/05 11:45pm
Msg #52374

As I understand the law, bwrs generally are only reqd to receive a copy of TIL and two each of the RTC. If you read the language of most RTCs, that is what they say.