Notary Rotary
New Agent
Notary Discussion History

New Agent
Go Back to July, 2005 Index

Posted by Jan on 7/7/05 5:00pm
Msg #50371

New Agent

I'm a new loan signing agent, haven't had my first job yet, wanted to get all the ducks in a row. I went out to six businesses today....we'll see how long before I get my first job. I won't quit the day job yet. One company asked my fees and didn't like when I said over $100....I know I should stick to my guns right? Even if they don't call just stand firm and eventually I'll get my asking price? any comments appreciated

Reply by janCA on 7/7/05 5:20pm
Msg #50378

What exactly is it that you are charging the $100 for??? Overnighted loan docs, emailed docs?. Travel? You did not specify. And if you've never done any signings before, well, we all have to pay our dues when it comes to the fees. You have to prove yourself first. Have you signed up with any SS's yet? That's a good place to start, especially with loan signings. At least 200 of them and because of the saturation in many areas 300-400 would be even better. Just make sure that you know what you are doing, because once you screw up with a title/lender, they will write you off.

Reply by Stephanie_CA on 7/7/05 6:04pm
Msg #50386

Re: New Agent......$100 seems to be a little high if .....

you haven't even successfully even completed one signing.

My question is are you confident enough in your skills - at something you've never done to charge $100. The other response is so "right on". Is the $100 for overnight docs?
As JanCA has mentioned we allhave to pay our dues when it comes to fees.
I charged a lower fee when I first started - once I proved myself and I started receiving repeat business - I was able to increase my base fee.

Reply by jan on 7/8/05 12:17am
Msg #50491

The class I took, through notaryclasses.com said never to accept anything under $150,,,and they also said to NEVER sign up with any services......so I'm stumped.

Reply by anonymous-fl on 7/7/05 7:42pm