Notary Rotary
Power of Attorney and signatures
Notary Discussion History

Go Back to July, 2005 Index

Posted by LAG-Fl on 7/2/05 5:28pm
Msg #49609

I am doing a HELOC on Tues and have a question. This is my first time dealing with Power of Attorney. It is a Citibank loan. Citibank is requesting an original notarized copy of POA to match with their copy there is no copy in package. does this mean I return it with the loan package or just check it. My instructions do not say what to do with it. Also the husband is power of attorney for his wife and where the wife is to sign(actually power of attorney) it has several names listed such as Jane Doe, AKA Jane M Doe, by John Doe aka John M Doe her attorney in fact. This is all on the mortgage. IS he supposed to sign for the wife in what her actual name is or all of these? And to make matters worse the husband is listed as John M Doe, who took title as John N Doe this seems crazy....Help has anyone had this before?

Reply by TitleGalCA on 7/2/05 6:27pm
Msg #49626

First and foremost this is one MAJOR cluster f*** for both you and title (if it were in CA), for a TON of reasons. (excuse my blunt language, but that's it in a nutshell) I'm a bit appalled that this mess would come to you as a signing agent, as presented in your post.

First - the POA. ***there is no copy in package*** NOR THE ORIGINAL, WHICH IS WHAT YOU HAVE TO SEE IN ORDER TO "NOTARIZE THE COPY" OF THE POA. Therefore you cannot address this. Ask the EO to provide that to lender. If you are not provided the tools to notarize, you can't do so. Again, break this down into 'parts'.