SignaturesPlus
Notary Discussion History

SignaturesPlus
Go Back to July, 2005 Index

Posted by J in CA on 7/12/05 8:42pm
Msg #51429

SignaturesPlus

Please Help!
I just realized who these folks are, SOX, and now it is after hours, and I've already printed docs, and have to go to the appt.
Sould I call them tomorrow, and say I will not send out docs, until I get some kind of payment garantee?
Any other ideas???
Thanks for any help!

Reply by BLE on 7/12/05 9:03pm
Msg #51433

Hold the docs hostage!

Ask them to submit immediate payment through Paypal or some other similar set up. Did you know that you can legally withhold the finished product if payment is not forthcoming? I studied this last semester in law school.

Reply by SamIam_CA on 7/12/05 9:12pm
Msg #51436

Re: Hold the docs hostage!

WHAT!!?!? You are suggesting the original poster keep the docs? The borrower may loose their rate on the loan...who do you think they're going to come after for monetary damages? Your E&O won't cover your ass for intentionally screwing up!

Reply by Dmartz_IN on 7/12/05 9:20pm
Msg #51442

BLE,
I can not belive you would even say something like this. If you are in law school you should now the difference between a finished product and legal doc's . Also you would be wise not to offer legal advise as you are not a lawyer. Not all of us on this forum are just SA's some of us do other things also and happen to know are state laws very well. Just a heads up take it as you want.

Reply by SamIam_CA on 7/12/05 9:35pm
Msg #51446

Re: Hold the docs hostage??? NNNoooooo!

See the thread starting with message 6379.

Reply by Roger/OH on 7/12/05 9:37pm
Msg #51448

Re: Hold the docs hostage? NEVER!!