Notary Rotary
Slow Biz in S. CA?
Notary Discussion History

Slow Biz in S. CA?
Go Back to July, 2005 Index

Posted by AJ_in_CA on 7/8/05 11:06am
Msg #50561

Slow Biz in S. CA?

Is it just me or is business slow for other S. Cal notaries...a few months back things kept me hopping, but now i'm lucky if i get 2-3 signings a week. I'm fairly new at this loan doc signing biz (almost going on for a year now). I've signed up with about a 100 SS, made calls, visited and passed out business cards to title companies and mortgage lenders and made follow-up calls. I'm not getting the regular calls from SS that i have in the past. Perhaps its demographics...I live in the Coachella Valley (Palm Springs area. Is it just me or is business slowing down in general?

Reply by Charles_CA on 7/8/05 12:04pm
Msg #50575

Re: Slow Biz in S. CA? And its probably going to get slower

I believe that you will find that business flows in cycles and Signing Notaries are very much tied to the Real Estate business. The last few years have seen unprecedented activity in real estate because of the extremely low cost of money. Unfortunately every time you see Alan Greenspan on TV raise the prime another quarter point it means that business is going to slow down. The last raise last week is already having a chilling effect and it was promised that there would be more raises in the near future. Also when interest rates were at 4.75% last summer most everyone who wanted to refinance got thechance to do so and the result was the phenominal rise in the need for signing serivces.

As the business regains normalcy (wnatever tht means) you will see even more reduced activity. Real estate and its support service cycle in about a 10 to 12 year cycle. Those of you who may remember the downturn in the 90's have an idea of what a low period can be. So be braced for it I believe we crestsed.