Notary Rotary
backdating docs
Notary Discussion History

backdating docs
Go Back to July, 2005 Index

Posted by nazanin on 7/27/05 10:30pm
Msg #55244

backdating docs

Hi everyone, I am new in this business and am not quite aware of everything. But I do remember one thing from class and that was NOT TO BACK DATE DOCS. I was called out to a signing last min by an agent. She stated I need to be there for a signing in half hour. she stated the signing would be paying 100.00. I agreed. She stated she would send me e-mail confirmation but that I needed to be at signing in half hour.
I showed up at the signing (without checking my e-mail because I was already close by) after waiting for 45 min for the docs to be prepared they stated to me there is a first and second that need to be notarized and that also, the docs need to be back dated to monday's date. I immediatly stated I was not going to do anything illegal, first to put my commission on the line and second to do anything illegal. I stated does your normal notary know this and they stated yes, I asked if I could speak to her again. I called her and she acted like she didn't know and told me to go home and that she will contact me when new docs are drawn up. Well, I proceeded to go home and once I arrived home checked my e-mail. NO CONFIRMATION IN MY E-MAIL................. Was there something illegal going on here???????? What should I do about this situation?

Reply by Kay / NV on 7/27/05 11:57pm
Msg #55276

Just what you did / did not do. You left as there were no documents that you could sign unless they wanted to use todays date. The only "legal" date you are allowed to use.

Good luck on getting paid ..... that may be a tough one. I hope the company that called is at lease going to pay a trip fee. I wouldn't hold my breath though. Smiley

Reply by Kim_Cali on 7/28/05 12:42am
Msg #55285