Join  |  Login  |   Cart    

Notary Rotary
need to make the money signing companies r making off of me!
Notary Discussion History

Go Back to July, 2005 Index

Posted by Anonymous on 7/21/05 2:08pm
Msg #53642

Hello All,

This is my first time posting, I usually just read. I have been an Illinois signing agent for a year. I know that the signing companies are making almost double what they pay me. I have tried contacting some title companies, which stated they do not use outside notaries. I am becoming very frustrated not knowing how to gain my own clients so that I can make market rate for the work that I am doing. What am I not doing?

All suggestions welcome!

Reply by patti-ca on 7/21/05 2:16pm
Msg #53647

Very few signing companies are making double... I'm assuming that if you make $50 then you think think the SS is making $100 for a total to the lender/escrow is $150. Albeit, it is possible but in most cases I would say it is a 50/50 or a 60/40 split (notary getting 60%). Many times the fee on the settlement statement is inflated or the notary might not know which number to look at...the grass isn't any greener...believe me

Reply by MaggieMae_CA on 7/21/05 2:25pm
Msg #53648

Okay...

Here's how I'm looking at the glass on the table. It's half full for me.

It's hard to get my foot in the door with a title company or escrow unless I know someone or have the availability of doing this during the day. I don't, so I need to work with signing services and out of state title companies. I need to "settle" for that.

What I do have control over is finding companies that pay reasonable fees, are flexible and are good to work with. That's the way I'm focusing my business at this point in time.