Notary Rotary
sit-a-long
Notary Discussion History

sit-a-long
Go Back to July, 2005 Index

Posted by jan-Santa Clarita, Ca on 7/9/05 1:57pm
Msg #50765

sit-a-long

Hi, I'm a new notary/loan signing agent (notaryclasses.com). I live in Santa Clarita, Ca. anyone willing to let me do a couple of "sit-a-longs" with them during any of their signings? My hours are really flexible and I'd just like to see a real signing before I tackle my first one. Thanks, in advance for any help.

Reply by Lori/CA on 7/9/05 2:28pm
Msg #50775

Most signing services (SS) or title companies (TC) don't want signing agents (SA) to bring anyone with them. Most Signing Agents don't want to train their competition, if you show someone the ropes you just take away work from yourself. I would suggest you go over your own set of loan docs or ask a family member if you can look over their set of documents. Sign up with as many companies as you can. Most of us just jumped in and did it.

Did your instructor suggest that you try to get someone to do a ride along with?

Reply by jan-ca on 7/9/05 3:52pm
Msg #50785

Yes, she did. But I figure, being in law enforcement 20 plus years, knowing how "court docs" have to read and all, it can't be that hard. I've bought several homes, refied, myself, and have the book from the class that I just keep reviewing and reviewing. I'll be fine, just want that "first siging" to come so I have it under my belt. Thanks!

Reply by Lori on 7/9/05 4:19pm
Msg #50788

Thanks for answering. It explains why new notaries were coming on the board asking for ride
alongs and such. Can't fault you guys, when you were instructed to do so. Read as much as you can, and ask questions. Use the search key on the to read as much on a subject also on the boards.

Reply by Hesham Elaziry on 7/10/05 2:24am
Msg #50820

Keep looking. Lori has a point, but try. Don't give up. Read the docs before you go to borrower's house, and put a post-it-note, on where you need to notarize.