Notary Rotary
New RESPA law re: Conflit of Interest
Notary Discussion History

Go Back to June, 2005 Index

Posted by fiKS on 6/8/05 7:50pm
Msg #43367

I heard that there was a new RESPA rulling saying that it is considered a conflict of interest for a Real Estate Agent to also be a Loan Originator. I've searched on the web and can't find anything to confirm what I heard. Does anyone have any info on this? TIA

Reply by TCMN_MN on 6/8/05 10:22pm
Msg #43392

I do not know where that is a new law. I'm a RE Agent AND have my loan originators license. The common sense would say though that you can't originate your buyers loan if you are representing them as their agent in the re transaction....the same thing as you can't do the loan and notarize it as a signing agent. But I have yet to hear of a new law. And that would be state imposed not federal anyways so it wouldn't be across the board for all states. Check your local government.

Reply by Paul_IL on 6/8/05 10:32pm
Msg #43394

There is No conflict of Interest and RESPA does not apply as long as the work is done for both.

Reply by SamIam_CA on 6/8/05 10:43pm
Msg #43399

In MN do you have credible witnesses?

I had a situation where the borrower was Joe Blow Senior - the loan docs were Joe Blow Senior - but his CADL only showed Joe Blow.

Do you think it would be a conflict of interest for the loan originator to act as the credible witness to ID the borrower? As the LO you are not exactly a party to the loan, like the co-borrowing spouse. But then again you do profit from the closing of the loan.

Any thoughts?

Reply by John_NorCal on 6/9/05 12:08am
Msg #43416

Re: New RESPA law re: Conflict of Interest