Join  |  Login  |   Cart    

Notary Rotary
Do I need a laser printer when first starting as a CNSA?
Notary Discussion History

Go Back to March, 2005 Index

Posted by JAYNE COX on 3/9/05 11:33pm
Msg #24649

I'm just starting out as a certified notary signing agent, without a laser printer...and was wondering is it absolutely necessary for me to go purchase one before I start sigining up with signing companies...and if so, what kind do you suggest? (Or do signing companies send the client or me the docs directly?)

Thank you for your support!!

Reply by Lee/AR on 3/9/05 11:52pm
Msg #24654

Emphatically yes, if you intend to do edocs (sent to you; not borrower). But, you can probably get away with refusing edocs 'til you get your feet wet & know what you're getting yourself into. There as many opinions as there are notaries as to which printer is best.... and I'm not going there...

Reply by Jon on 3/10/05 12:30am
Msg #24664

I agree with Lee. Except for the printer, I like the one that is opposite of his. Smiley

Reply by Ted_MI on 3/10/05 8:49am
Msg #24707

Jayne,

You have asked several questions. As to whether you need a laser printer or not, I think that depends upon whether you have a Kinko's-fedex nearby (or some comparable facility) where you can get copies printed.

As far as what kind of laser printer to purchase, I would suggest you do a search on this site. This is an issue that has been addressed (and responded to) before. I speak from personal experience, as I am in the process of buying a new one.

As to whether signing companies, etc send docs directly to the borrower or to you, yes that indeed can happen, although I believe the trend is definitely to e-docs particularly when you are talking about refinances.

Finally, I would dispense with your last name and indicate what state you are from if you post again (i.e. Jayne - XL).

Reply by BK/FL on 3/10/05 8:54am
Msg #24709