Notary Rotary
I think I am being bamboozled!
Notary Discussion History

Go Back to March, 2005 Index

Posted by Mysti_FL on 3/10/05 1:49pm
Msg #24778

Remember, I am new at this!!! Well, I get a call to do a 1st and 2nd. The call comes at 5:00 or 6:00 in the evening for the next morning at 10:00 AM. Half of the first pkg she sends me that night. I think "my goodness, so this is what it means to truly prepare pkgs!!!". Next morning, she doesn't get in until 8:30 (title company) and starts sending the rest of the docs.

Note, in an earlier post, that I mentioned since this was my first 1st and 2nd, I only charged a total of $130. Although I realized I messed up, I figured, well, this is the third assignment she has sent me, so, I'll take the loss.

Well, I ended up not being able to make the 10:00 but they were nicely willing to wait until I got there at 10:30. The closing took 4 HOURS!!!!! I tell him at the beginning about the RTC and explain that while I am setting up, he review his pkg. He throws it aside claiming "don't worry, I'll give that to my lawyers"! But when we start signing, he analysis each page and makes various calls to the loan officer and because of those calls, changes figures (margin and prepayment penalty info).

Afterwards, I asked my contact to please allow for some consideration on this. She advised she couldn't go over $150. Not to lose her, I said fine, you can only do that, I'll deal with it.

Then she says "well, also there are some things you did incorrectly". She then advises that the mortgage wasn't signed by both, etc. I started a slow simmer!! I am new. I don't know all the details of this job. But I would never miss the docs she mentioned, of which the mtg is one!!! But, then, I thought. OK, someone here said "Live and Learn" so I'll deal with it.