Notary Rotary
Just getting Started
Notary Discussion History

Just getting Started
Go Back to March, 2005 Index

Posted by Anonymous on 3/2/05 9:09am
Msg #23219

Just getting Started

Hello everyone, I'm just getting started in my mobile notary business. I'm in DE, and was wondering if anyone could give a rookie a few pointers. TIA

Reply by Dorothy/MI on 3/2/05 9:23am
Msg #23221

RESEARCH, RESEARCH, RESEARCH

First bit of advice -- read this board in its entirety. There is a wealth of information on it, both for loan questions and general notary questions. Start by pushing the first button and read ALL the way to the last. Then after reading it all, if you have any specific questions, post them, but remember that most people will not respond to anonymous so if you really want good advice, use at least a pen name.

Reply by D. Smiley and Associates, LLC on 3/2/05 11:13am
Msg #23250

Re: RESEARCH, RESEARCH, RESEARCH

Thanks

Reply by PAW_Fl on 3/2/05 10:15am
Msg #23228

I normally do not respond to anonymous posters, but you stated you are in DE, which, afaik, is an attorney only state. That being said, you can still perform as a mobile notary doing standard notary work. You just will not be able to accept loan "closing" signings.

Read the DE laws pertaining to notaries and notarial acts.
If DE has a notary manual, digest it fully.
Join a notary association. (I recommend the American Society of Notaries - ASN)
Read the message boards, but be aware that most of the discussion will be Signing Agent based on a lot of the message boards and forums.

Reply by Art_MD on 3/2/05 10:52am
Msg #23246

Re: Where in delaware ? n/m/

Reply by D. Smiley and Associates, LLC on 3/2/05 11:32am
Msg #23255

Re: Where in delaware ? n/m/

Wilmington

Reply by D. Smiley and Associates, LLC on 3/2/05 11:30am
Msg #23254