Notary Rotary
New notary in N. Virginia would like to network with others
Notary Discussion History

Go Back to March, 2005 Index

Posted by jj_in_va on 3/30/05 1:45pm
Msg #28574

I am new to this business and would like to know if there are any other Northern Virginia notaries out there that would be interested in networking?

Reply by Amanda-VA on 3/30/05 3:12pm
Msg #28594

Do you have a real estate background?

Reply by AndreeaMI on 3/30/05 4:29pm
Msg #28613

Do you have to have a real estate background to be a signing agent?

Reply by BrendaTX on 3/30/05 4:31pm
Msg #28615

Re: New notary in N. Virginia would like to network with oth

Not necessarily, but if you have a background of Mortgage Lending, R.E., or R E Law, it can help the learning curve greatly. Also, I would recommend that before you do signings that you really get good with your notary law and how to fill out the certificates.

Reply by AndreeaMI on 3/30/05 4:42pm
Msg #28622

Question for you Brenda.
What if the borrower goes to his bank and has the papers signed by a notary there? Here in MI the service of a notary at the bank, it's free!

Reply by BrendaTX on 3/30/05 4:46pm
Msg #28623

Assuming that the borrower wanted to do that they could encounter problems, but maybe not.

In Tx, it would be hard to get a notary to sit still for the 15 - 20 certificates that have to be filled out in a bank, but I suppose it is doable.

The signing agent/notary acts as a trained person who can help them sign the documents without missing important areas that have to be signed and get them packaged up and returned.

Getting the docs back is also a challenge to those who are not Fedex / Ups savvy. Believe it or not, there are people that this is very intimidating to.

Is this what you wanted to know?

Reply by AndreeaMI on 3/30/05 4:56pm
Msg #28629

Thanks Brenda.

Reply by Ted_MI on 3/30/05 6:15pm
Msg #28655

Andreaa,