Notary Rotary
To: CarolynCO
Notary Discussion History

Go Back to March, 2005 Index

Posted by Korey Humphreys on 3/29/05 4:54pm
Msg #28342

You stated that you don't know why other notaries ask questions about subpoenas or trespass's.

Isn't the answer obvious? As far as my research shows, no other state allows a notary public to issue various court orders (writs, subpoenas, summonse's etc.).

Of course a MA notary will ask about this non-common practice. Non-common because no other state allows the same authority/duty.

So you don't think I'm blowing hotair, fee free to visit the Massachusetts notary laws at http://www.mass.gov/legal/notaries.html . I promise you that this is not my site, nor am I advertising.

Something boggles my mind though..... how would discussing subpoenas etc. constitute self-advertising? Do the signing companies care about subpoena's, or court work? NO... they care about signing services. There is no problem with me assisting other notaries. I'm not an expert for massachusetts notary law, because an expert is not created with only 3 years of expirence.

Go here: http://www.mass.gov/legal/notaries.html

=======
Korey

Reply by CarolynCO on 3/29/05 5:00pm
Msg #28350

**As far as my research shows, no other state allows a notary public to issue various court orders**

But a newly commissioned notary from another state would probably be unaware of that fact, and it just seems apparent that with all the other newbie signing agent/signing service questions, that at least *one* notary in the other 49 states would have asked about subpoenas and trespass.

Reply by Korey Humphreys on 3/29/05 5:03pm
Msg #28353

Okay... I give you that much.

But I can't picture them asking if it does not have anything to do with their office in that state? That's all. Take care.

======
Korey

Reply by Mary_CA on 3/29/05 5:16pm
Msg #28360

Your profile states that *borrowers are treated with respect and dignity.* Seems to me you could do the same here.