Notary Rotary
feeling uneasy at a home signing
Notary Discussion History

Go Back to March, 2005 Index

Posted by Nancy in Florida on 3/11/05 9:33am
Msg #24929

Has anyone ever felt uneasy while conducting a signing in someone's home. I have been doing loan closings for many years but just started out as an SA going into the borrower's homes. So far my experience has been positve with very nice borrowers.

I had one recently that when I called the borrowers regarding the signing location and time I got an uneasy feeling and honestly I was a little afraid to go to their home. The signing was canceled, one of those where the L/O scheduled it but it wasn't clear to close!!

I have heard some horror story of Realtors being the victims of crimes while showing homes to prospective buyers but I always felt comfortable with signing in borrower's homes because the lender had all of the personal information but I was just wondering if anyone else felt uneasy or not and if you had an uneasy feeling prior to going how do you handle it? Can you request to meet in a public location at the borrower's convenience?

Reply by Charm_AL on 3/11/05 9:36am
Msg #24932

take someone with you if you're uneasy. I do if it's late or far

Reply by Lauriec on 3/11/05 9:51am
Msg #24937