Notary Rotary
2 Witness Signiture on Deed of Trust
Notary Discussion History

Go Back to May, 2005 Index

Posted by SMP on 5/13/05 12:33pm
Msg #37517

I have been doing signings for 2 years now and this is the first time a title company is sending back documents to get witness signitures on the Deed of Trust. Is this the law in Florida do we need 2 Witness Signiture on Deed of Trust one being the Notary? I have never come accross this before.

Reply by SamIam_CA on 5/13/05 1:05pm
Msg #37526

Re: 2 Witness Signature on Deed of Trust

There are more than 30 messages on this board that discuss the Florida witness requirements. Please tell me you are not actually IN Florida!

Reply by SamIam_CA on 5/13/05 1:06pm
Msg #37527

uuummm - your profile shows Florida... n/m

Reply by SMP_FL on 5/13/05 3:40pm
Msg #37582

Re: uuummm - your profile shows Florida... n/m

I guess you didn't know the answer.

Reply by SamIam_CA on 5/13/05 4:33pm
Msg #37602

guess again :) n/m

Reply by SMP_FL on 5/13/05 3:38pm
Msg #37579

Yes I am in Florida - Does it make a difference if a person has a question?

Reply by SamIam_CA on 5/13/05 4:33pm
Msg #37601

YES it makes a huge difference - I asked if you were from Florida because I would expect a Florida notary to know your own state's witness requirements.

Florida requires two witnesses for DEEDS THAT CONVEY PROPERTY. You should read Florida Statutes Chapter 695.03 & Chapter 689.01.

If a notary from another state were notarizing a DOT for property in FL, they should be warned by the Title Company/Lender/SS of the witness requirements - but this is not always the case as these people may assume you already know this. That is the difference between a professional SA and a notary.

Thanks to PAW for educating me on this info!

Reply by Dave C on 5/13/05 5:48pm
Msg #37614

The ref to 695.03 is incorrect,only 689.01 applys to the subject. I guess we all need a little tuneup.
Bluish,blush

Reply by Sam I am on 5/13/05 6:08pm
Msg #37620