Signing Location
Notary Discussion History

Signing Location
Go Back to May, 2005 Index

Posted by RodriguezNotaries on 5/26/05 3:49pm
Msg #40610

Signing Location

Hi there...Newbie here with a question.
I was wondering if any of you seasoned signers out there have an opinion on having the borrowers meet you at a location, as opposed to going to their homes. Say, maybe having them meet you at a starbucks, or a library. Also, aside from the personal safety issues, is there anything wrong with having them meet you at your home?

Reply by ERNA_CA on 5/26/05 4:03pm
Msg #40613

They are paying for the convenience of having a notary come to their home, and we are being payed to accommodate that. Signings can happen any wear but at the borrowers convenience. I would never have a signing at my home.

Reply by Art_MD on 5/26/05 4:05pm
Msg #40614

Often we do signings at other than the borrowers home.
Reasons: Safety, borrower's convience, late due to late docs and meet half way to complete.

I have done a few at my home. BUT, I had read the docs and one was an FBI agent, one a cop, and one was CIA. If they want a place other than their home, make it a public place and let someone know where you are doing the closing the SS/TC, spouse etc.

There are several consideration as why you do not want to do closing in your home. Insurance, business restrictions, something wrong with the loan and the borrower knows your house. Also, my home is my castle. friends are welcome. It is not set up as a place of business and would inconvienece my family.

Art

Reply by FlaNotary1 on 5/26/05 5:26pm
Msg #40627