Notary Rotary
confused
Notary Discussion History

confused
Go Back to May, 2005 Index

Posted by SDgirl on 5/7/05 5:11pm
Msg #36450

confused

I have been doing signings now for almost 2 years and I have never requested that a borrower provide me with a copy of their I.D. to return to the lender unless otherwise specified.

Recently I was too ill to complete a signing that I had already committed to so the title company asked me to find another notary to complete the signing. I did so and then had to review the docs myseld for accuracy. I though it was very interesting to see that the notary had provided copies of both borrowers id's with their signature on the copy. I thought that is was not necessary since there is a signature affidavit and a statement of information page.

Not only that, but the notary had the borrower initial the RTC dates on all copies. Is this correct?? I thought you were NOT supposed to initial the RTC. I have never been told otherwise. Can someone clarify? Now I am starting to doubt myself :<

Reply by Lalas_socal on 5/7/05 5:50pm
Msg #36454

Dont doubt yourself, only the borrowers initial RTC in case of a change of date, my lender sends notes with docs for notaries to NOT make changes to dates or documents, NOT to initial RTC and NOT to have borrowers initial every page(unless its requested), they must get it alot cuz they sure get hissy about it, cant blame them though, its got to be just as irritating to them when we dont do our job right as it is to us when they dont do their job (refering to previous post about borrower not knowing there was money due) HELLLLOOOOO !!!!
That is why I rarely work through signing companies, ever play that game telephone? the more people the message goes thru the worse it gets messed up (as with payment).
as far as copies of the ID's, only if requested from the lender(or escrow or title), and that happens sometimes. Hope this helps.
Smiley

Reply by Roger/OH on 5/7/05 6:06pm
Msg #36457