Notary Rotary
mentor
Notary Discussion History

mentor
Go Back to May, 2005 Index

Posted by Vi CA on 5/3/05 12:52pm
Msg #35534

mentor

Hi! I'm new to the business and have contacted a few notaries in my area to see if they would be willing to mentor me by allowing me to go along with them on some signings and they have all been "unwelcoming." I'ts very disheartening, especially because I have done everything in my power to get some business. I've sent busines cards and flyers to several mortgage and Title co., I'm also signed up with sevral signing agencies. How is one to get experience if no one is willing to help? I was called to one assignment which went well up until the borrower decided he did not want to go with the refi after all. I was called on another occassion by an agency but did not get the assignment because I could not receive edocs. Those are the only 2 contacts I've received and I've been trying since March . I know being able to receive edocs is important but the equipment needed is expensive! My idea was to purchase one once I began generating some income from my signings. I'm open to any other suggestions, and if someone in the Moreno Valley, Ca area is willing to "take me under their wing" even if it's just for one signing I will truly appreciate it. Thank you.

Reply by Art_MD on 5/3/05 12:59pm
Msg #35536

The key words in the first sentence are ".. in my area.." Nobody want to train the competition -- Especially in a business where you have no control over the volume of work available. There will be a finite # of closings in your area and YOU are their competition!!!

Figure out what area you would normally cover. For talking purposes, say 30 miles radius.
Look to find a SA say 50/60 miles from you. You would probably not be invading "his/her territory" and might have a better chance of getting a good relationship set up.

Good luck

Art

Reply by Vi CA on 5/3/05 1:07pm
Msg #35541