starting out
Notary Discussion History

starting out
Go Back to May, 2005 Index

Posted by Anonymous on 5/20/05 1:34pm
Msg #39326

starting out

Hello,
First off let me say I am just starting out. With that said, if I wanted to get my name out, handing out flyers and business cards to title and escrow companies, would that be a waste of time? Do title and excrow companies hire newbies or should I just wait for loan signings under my belt? I am just a little annoyed that the signing services only want to pay 50.00 for us to drive in traffic, drive within 50 miles and spend a 1-2 hours for a signing. I have spent alot of time researching and studying and getting certified to only get paid 50.00 If there are good title and escrow companies that do hire newbies it would be great to know who. Please don't get me wrong, I am also signing up with signing services, because I am ready to start! I just want to make the most money possible as I am sure everyone here wants.

Reply by Philem on 5/20/05 2:12pm
Msg #39332

Hi, and welcome! Not quite sure that sending marketing information to TC's right away is a very solid idea. Working directly for TC's and lenders is considered "experienced territory." Not saying that you won't find some, but it's generally better to go to them with a solid, demonstratable history of signings.

Yes, it does indeed suck that SS want to pay so little. Think of it as another form of "paying your dues, and putting in the time," that is required to *prove* to those companies you want to work with that you know what the deal is, and can be trusted to provide quality service.

Also, what state are you in? Most states have peculiar things specific to them, and in some, notaries are not permitted to perform witness-only signings; they are "attorney only" states.

Good luck!
-Jim

Reply by corona71 on 5/20/05 2:49pm
Msg #39339