Notary Rotary
who has control of the docs?
Notary Discussion History

Go Back to May, 2005 Index

Posted by Anonymous on 5/26/05 9:46pm
Msg #40709

I am new to the business and have done around 25 signings thus far with no conflict with the clients. I made a mistake today with a signing that has me confused as to what is really the standard protocol. The doc’s were sent to the borrower, and when I arrived they had the originals spread out on her table with the copies neatly tucked in the folder. I sat there for a minute wondering how to get them organized as she was standing over them still going through them. I explained she would have ample opportunity to review the doc’s as she signed, and I placed the copies next to me as I was trained. After gathering up the mixed up documents to start the signing she asked for her copy to review more before she started signing. I explained again that we are going through each and everyone document during the signing and they could have the copies after we were done. Is this right or should I have given her the copies and let her review them while I sat there and waited? I would also like to add that I was early and called to see if they were perhaps ready a little sooner (20min early) and they replied “NO, I need the time to review these documents further”. I waited an additional half an hour and they still wanted to look through them. Does it really matter if they have the doc's before the signing is completed? I appreciate all comments!!

California Notary

Reply by Jenni on 5/27/05 12:13am
Msg #40734

In that situation I would of given them to her, only because the lender had sent them to the borrower and created the situation for you. You did fine. That will be a rarity. Most borrowers I have found, don't even open them. Good luck.

Reply by Jeanie-fl on 5/27/05 1:29am
Msg #40742