Notary Rotary
Notarizing copy of passport
Notary Discussion History

Go Back to November, 2005 Index

Posted by Mary Greco on 11/4/05 2:31pm
Msg #74339

I am being asked to notarize a photocopy of a client's passport. I have never done this before and never heard of this so was hoping someone could shed a little light on the proper procedure for notarizing this.
Thanks so much...mary

Reply by srnotary_CA on 11/4/05 2:35pm
Msg #74341

Not sure But I don't think you can notarize a passport.

Reply by PAW_Fl on 11/4/05 3:08pm
Msg #74367

If you are authorized by your state to make and certify copies of documents, you can notarize a copy of a passport. Not all states allow notaries to certify copies, so be sure you can do that before you do.

In FL, notaries are authorized to make copies of certain documents (including passports) and notarizing them as true copies.

Reply by AnneSoCA on 11/4/05 3:04pm
Msg #74358

What state are you in?

Reply by Anonymous on 11/4/05 3:08pm
Msg #74366

I am in NY, but passport may be international. any ideas???

Reply by PAW_Fl on 11/4/05 3:27pm
Msg #74377

A passport is not a vital or public document. It is also an original document, maintained by the passport holder or custodian. Therefore, if your state (NY) allows you to make and certify copies of documents, then you can make and certify a copy of a passport, no matter where it originated.

From what I read about NY in the Notary Public License Law:

Certified Copy -
A copy of a public record signed and certified as a true copy by the public official having custody of the original. ***A notary public has no authority to issue certified copies.*** Notaries must not certify to the authenticity of legal documents and other papers required to be filed with foreign consular officers.

Any NY notaries out there who can render assistance?

Reply by AnneSoCA on 11/4/05 3:16pm
Msg #74369

If you're in CA....