Notary Rotary
Recommendations about Mortgage Cos.
Notary Discussion History

Go Back to November, 2005 Index

Posted by Anne/IL on 11/14/05 9:53am
Msg #76333

A friend of mine *thinks* I'm now an expert in mortgage companies since I see their docs and that I should know the best out there...Hmmm, I don't think I've been doing this long enough to come up with a good answer. She and her DH are looking for HELOC on their current home and mortgage on investment property.

Any ideas ??

Reply by Charles_Ca on 11/14/05 10:05am
Msg #76336

A tough question without some details

When I am not wearing my notary hat I represent Windsor Capitol Mortgage and the Pacific Real Estate Network. I frequently get calls asking what is the best mortgage company, what are today's rates, what are the best rates I can get etc. Having over 300 lenders at my beck and call those questions are not easy to answer unless there are some additional details. The first question should be what is your goal for getting a loan. Many of you have hear everything from buying a Hummer to debt consolidation and each of those has a different answer. HELOCs aren't best for everyone, maybe a cash out re-fi might be more appropriate. Goals should be pretty specific. After the goal is established the next question should be how much money does one want to get out of the financing and then finally we get to the BIG question, what kind of a loan can the individual qualify for. Their credit ratings will determine their terms largely and without those items any discussion of best loan is meaningless.

Reply by Anne/IL on 11/14/05 10:23am
Msg #76338

Some details...