Notary Rotary
$50.00 Signing Fees! OUCH!!
Notary Discussion History

Go Back to November, 2005 Index

Posted by Rick_NY on 11/3/05 4:43pm
Msg #74043

I have been doing this work for about 2 years and have generally been paid $85.00 to $125.00 for courier doc closings, usually HELOCS.

My biggest client lost TWO of THEIR big accounts and I have been really scrambling to replace the business.

The companies I have been coming across seem to mostly be paying $50.00 to $75.00 [if I am lucky] for a courier doc HELOC signing. I do this full-time and don't see how it can continue to be a business at those kind of rates.

Is this what the business is coming to -- or what?

Anybody?

Reply by Roger_OH on 11/3/05 5:03pm
Msg #74046

The business is what YOU make it. Sounds like to you need to do some serious marketing that emphasizes your signing experience. Have you gone after the higher-paying title companies or better SS around the country? Do you advertise on sites like NotRot, GMN, 123Notary and even signingagent.com (say what you want about NNA, but companies DO look there)?

There are plenty of companies that pay higher than $75, but you have to get out there,
find them, and tell them what you can offer.

Reply by Camelia_MS on 11/3/05 7:30pm
Msg #74090

I do a lot of signings and occassionally I'll do several $50 signings in one week. For me they seem to go in cycles. Accept it and move on. Work is work.

Reply by Stamper_WI on 11/3/05 8:07pm
Msg #74107

I will do $50 if I only have to walk around the corner to the Primerica Office. $50 is what I was paid in 1998 and I know for a fact that title co's have raised their rates for closings since then. So my bull headedness says I deserve a raise too.

Reply by Angela Simon on 11/3/05 9:49pm
Msg #74124

Work is work, but with the rise in gas prices accepting a $50.00 signing is no profit. $75.00 is the lowest fee I charge because of the cost of living.

Reply by PJM/MI on 11/4/05 6:08am
Msg #74163