Notary Rotary
Last Name Issue
Notary Discussion History

Last Name Issue
Go Back to October, 2005 Index

Posted by SDgirl_CA on 10/18/05 11:51pm
Msg #71131

Last Name Issue

I had a signing this evening that I did not go through with because the woman's last name was different on her driver's license than the docs. She is planning to change her last name back to her former husband's last name to be the same as her kids but has not gotten around to the DMV yet. She had nothing with this last name except for a work badge from 12 years ago. The SS was not available... Did I do the correct thing? I have been doing this for 2 years and never ran into this situation. Thanks

Reply by TitleGalCA on 10/19/05 12:03am
Msg #71132

Yes, SD, you did the right thing. This is a basic Notary question for ID in CA. You did right.

Reply by Brasring_Ca on 10/19/05 12:06am
Msg #71133

You did what I would have done. If she had no current ID for the last name printed on the docs then you cannot notarize that name. She will either have to have the docs redrawn in her current last name or obtain current ID in the name on the docs that she is wanting to use. I believe you were correct in not going through with the signing! That is called being smart and knowing your laws! Good job.

Reply by Kelly M Robertson on 10/19/05 3:14am
Msg #71138

Why Didn't you Try to use Credible Witnesses?

I've also got to say that you have been extremely lucky! I find ID that does not match all the time and use CW's a lot. Don't forget that you are a Notary PUBLIC and must exhaust all legal avenues of identification. You cannot abandon a lawful request and Credible Witnesses is the next step if ID doesn't match.

Reply by Dave_CA on 10/19/05 9:23am
Msg #71170

How do you justify using CW when CA

law says that they are to be used only when the person does not have one of the acceptable forms of ID?
In this situation the borrower had a valid DL just not in the name on the docs.