Notary Rotary
do you have a business license?
Notary Discussion History

Go Back to October, 2005 Index

Posted by Anonymous on 10/10/05 6:46pm
Msg #69788

I'm in CA. Do you all have a business license for your notary signing?

Reply by cyndi_ca on 10/10/05 7:43pm
Msg #69796

I was just advised to get one from my tax lady. I think it's about $40.00. I'm in so cal. Where are you?

Reply by Anonymous on 10/10/05 7:48pm
Msg #69798

I am in Nor Cal. Have you advertised directly to title companies and lenders without having your business license? I am just curious as I am new to this.

Thanks!

Reply by cyndi_ca on 10/10/05 8:14pm
Msg #69801

No I have not, but intend to do so shortly. I want to have more knowledge and experience before
I do so. Don't want to be looking stupid or being for that matter

Reply by Signing_Doc on 10/10/05 7:50pm
Msg #69799

I don't know about y'all, but here in Lost Wages (Las Vegas), a notary is not required to have a business license...therefore I don't...NOTB (None of their business)...all the fees I acrue go through my corporation...Stuart Las Vegas NV

Reply by PAW_Fl on 10/10/05 8:00pm
Msg #69800

In most states/counties (and parishes), notaries are not required to have a business license. However, the job of a notary SIGNING AGENT, is much more than being a notary, and as such, many jurisdictions have required business licenses for that business. Let's face it, you are not being paid as a notary, but as a signing agent getting much more (usually) as a signing agent than you would if you were strictly a notary public.

Reply by Kyle Ledgard on 10/10/05 9:41pm
Msg #69808

No one here in San Diego city offices were 100% sure so they called their bosses. Their bosss told them I did not need a license. In their estimation, we are notaries with additional training/knowledge about loan documents.

Reply by TitleGalCA on 10/10/05 9:49pm
Msg #69809