Join  |  Login  |   Cart    

Notary Rotary
About the journal and it's entries......
Notary Discussion History

Go Back to September, 2005 Index

Posted by Anonymous on 9/12/05 7:13pm
Msg #64843

I am fairly new to the notary and notary signing business and am a California notary. I just bought the new modern journal from notary rotary and was trying to figure out how I could start it since I have a pre-existing newly started journal.

Is it possible to change journals without having to finish the first one?

Also, it was to my understanding that in the California journals, when doing loan doc entries, all information must be handwritten in and no " " or lines through could be used because in the event that an item would need to be photocopied from the journal the information could not contain " " or lines through. Does someone know the answers? Thank you.

Reply by Barry Silver on 9/12/05 9:01pm
Msg #64856

No. No. No. Please read your state handbook. You must not keep any more than one active Journal of Notarial Acts at any time.

Page 7 of the CA state handbook states,

"A notary public is required to keep one active sequential journal at
a time of all acts performed as a notary public.

Please do not allow your over zealousness to use a great journal make you think of the possibility of breaking the notary law.

Reply by brasring on 9/12/05 10:03pm
Msg #64875

I know not to use more than one journal at a time....... what I was asking was how to discontinue use of the current journal to use the more efficient one. This apparently is possible if the first journal is lined out and a notation is made to the reason for the switch.

I am not a law breaking person and have reviewed the California laws. Thank you.

Reply by Barry Silver on 9/13/05 7:27am
Msg #64904

I understood your message perfectly. Just complete the journal that is presently active, then move on to the next journal.

Reply by Charles_CA on 9/12/05 9:19pm
Msg #64859