Notary Rotary
Mentoring...do's and don'ts
Notary Discussion History

Go Back to September, 2005 Index

Posted by Anonymous on 9/28/05 10:18am
Msg #67763

I'm a newbie but intense about integrity and honesty and the oath that I took means something to me. I studied and became certified, read every forum I could find for months, purchased everything recommended to me to be successful, bought CD's...you name it I did it. It was recommended to get a mentor, I contacted one on the list, was accepted and met her for lunch. Paid her cash money (more than a closing would pay) and thought I was well on my way of gaining knowledge and learning through OTJ training. WRONG!

After 4 weeks of phone tag and e-mail hello's I took the reins, sent out a ton of letters of introduction and filled out every application I could get my hands on. Poof! A notary replied to me just to let me know she wasn't a signing company but wanted to wish me good luck. A wonderful, intelligent lady with integrity and professionalism, a lady that showed me more in 3 e-mails than what I learned in a month. A lady that wasn't worried about me taking her business, an OUTSTANDING example of why I actually joined this fraternity...if you're reading this...I thank you from the bottom of my heart.

DON'T mentor if you have no intention of following through.
DON'T mentor if you don't know the laws of your State, false knowledge prepetuates itself.
DON'T mentor if you're insecure about your own skills.
DON'T mentor anyone within your own territory.
DON'T mentor if it's "just about the money".

DO mentor if you're know what you're talking about and WANT to make this industry better.
DO mentor if you're secure with your customers and not afraid for your territory.
DO mentor if it's something you enjoy rather than a quick way to make a few bucks.
DO mentor if you have positive attitudes to pass on within this field.

Sorry but I had to vent. Perhaps you'll understand why with the following paragraph: